making maps.

A map is a symbolic depiction highlighting relationships between elements of some space, such as objects, regions, and themes.

So basically for my next assignment from my Picture Symbol Icon module I have been given a brief asking me to custom design a map of a defined space.

So far I have come up with a few (slightly odd) ideas such as a map which represents the best times and places to find certain types of street performers in and around cities and a map with some kind of visual representation of the best places for someone to have a “rough night” on the streets.

The idea for the “rough night” is the only one so far where I have imagined some kind of physical representation for it. The idea I have imagined is a 3D map of a city made of cardboard with different sized blocks and shapes representative of buildings and street layouts then large “Z” shaped cardboard cutouts to symbolise the best places to sleep. The bigger the Z the easier the place to sleep.

The next thing for me to do is to make a quick model for the sleep rough idea and present my idea clearly through the use of sketches and notes.

Leave a Reply

